Observing

Solar Observing

Viewing nights take place at Terrey Hills, usually on the Saturdays before and after the new Moon. We start around sunset and continue until everyone has had enough.
Click on the link for map Terrey Hills

Visitors are welcome on the nights shown below. A $10 donation for adults, and $5 for under 16s, will assist with Council site-rental fees and Insurance. Visitors with telescopes will be permitted only one $10 observing night, after which they must become a member of the Society to continue to enjoy the outstanding facility at Terrey Hills.

Observing Dates for 2018

Our calendar of scheduled Saturday night observing for 2018 is below.
Please check this site for confirmation, as the date may occasionally be changed due to weather forecasts or other events.

Date Notes
Sat Dec 16 2017 Members only
New Moon December 18 2017
Sat Jan 13 Visitor night
New Moon January 17
Sat Jan 20 Members only
Sat Feb 10 Visitor night
New Moon February 16
Sat Feb 17 Members only
Sat Mar 10 Visitor night
Sat Mar 17 Members only
New Moon March 18
Daylight Saving Ends April 1
Sat Apr 7 Visitor night
Sat Apr 14 Members only
New Moon April 16
Sat May 12 Visitor night
New Moon May 15
Sat May 19 Members only
Sat June 9 Visitor night
New Moon June 14
Sat June 16 Members only
Sat July 7 Visitor night
New Moon July 13
Sat July 14 Members only
Sat Aug 4 Visitor night
Sat Aug 11 Members only
New Moon August 11
Sat Sept 1 Visitor night
Sat Sept 8 Members only
New Moon September 10
Sat Oct 6 Visitor night
Daylight saving begins October 7
New Moon October 9
Sat Oct 13 Members only
Sat Nov 3 Visitor night
New Moon November 8
Sat Nov 10 Members only
Sat Dec 1 Visitor night
New Moon December 7
Sat Dec 8 Members only

Solar Observing Dates for 2018

Our calendar of scheduled Sunday solar observing for 2018 is below. We meet near the observatory at St. Ignatius, starting at 11am. Please check this site a couple of days before as the date may occasionally be changed due to weather forecasts or other events.

Date Time
Sun Jan 7 11am to 1pm
Sun Feb 4 11am to 1pm
Sun Mar 4 11am to 1pm
Sun Apr 1 11am to 1pm
Sun May 6 11am to 1pm
Sun June 3 11am to 1pm
Sun July 1 11am to 1pm
Sun Aug 19 11am to 1pm
Sun Sept 16 11am to 1pm
Sun Oct 21 11am to 1pm
Sun Nov 18 11am to 1pm
Sun Dec 16 11am to 1pm

Advertisements